Canadian Wayfarer Association Annual General Meeting

Saturday 12 January 2019, 6:00 pm

Toronto Sailing and Canoe Club

Minutes

In attendance: Bob Stephenson, Rebecca Cowdery, Rob Wierdsma, Kit and Patsy Wallace, Al and Julia Schonborn, David and Anne Pugh, John and Jane Cawthorne, Jan and Alannah d'Ailly, Scott Ramsay, John Weakley, Alastair and Sharon Ryder-Turner, Sue Pilling, Steph Romaniuk, Leo and JoAnne Van Kampen, Analies Groen, Stuart Adams, Mike and Marg Duncan, Les and Margaret Sherratt, Mike Codd, Hans Gottschling

1. Call to Order and Commodore's Welcome

• Rob Wierdsma called the meeting to order at 6:11 pm, and welcomed the members in attendance;

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2018 AGM

- The minutes of the 2018 AGM were circulated with the agenda;
- Scott Ramsay moved approval of the minutes as presented (seconded by Anne Pugh); carried unanimously;

3. Treasurer's Report

- Mike Codd circulated copies of the year-end financial report for 2018;
 - Total income was \$2173.99 (compared to \$3143.78 in 2017) and expenses were \$2209.96 (compared to \$3121.64 in 2017), for a net of \$-35.97;
 - membership, advertising and book sales revenues were both down compared to 2017;
 - Total assets were \$2541.09 split among cash in the chequing account (\$1792.56) and prepaid expenses (\$748.53);
- There was some discussion of the fact that having a small amount of revenue returning to the association is a good thing to aim for, and secondarily the cost of trophies should be included in registration fees (e.g., \$5.00 per boat); Mike replied that he can convey the need for a supplemental fee when he communicates with clubs hosting regattas; the Executive committee will consider options;
- There was also some discussion of the necessity of providing prize hats for most improved finishers at *all* regattas; the Executive will consider options at its next meeting;
- Mike moved approval of the financial report as presented (seconded by John Cawthorne); carried unanimously;

4. Membership Report

- Kit Wallace presented the membership report for 2018;
- There were 72 members in 2016, 62 in 2017, and 59 in 2018 including honorary members;
- So far 20 members have renewed for 2019;
- Receiving payments through PayPal has been well received by most;
- The members approved a motion of thanks to Kit for his efforts in maintaining the membership

(moved by Al Schonborn, seconded by Jan d'Ailly);

5. WIC Business

• There was no business to discuss;

6. Other Business

- Jan d'Ailly circulated a report of the results of a membership survey that had been circulated to the broader membership;
- There were 49 responses to the survey:
 - \circ most attend 0-2 events per year;
 - the most common reason for being a member was to support the class, and comments identified membership as a way to support the ongoing communication through the website;
 - respondents identified their primary interest is sailing, with opportunities to socialize as an added benefit;
 - most respondents have been members for 5 years or less, with a secondary peak at 10+ years, and suggesting there may be opportunities for the Executive to work on retaining mmebers through the intermediate range;
 - respondents indicated a general willingness to travel up to 2 hours to attend one-day events, and up to 4 hours for a two-day event;
 - respondents also provided written comments that hit on a few common themes, most were positive and offer some ideas that can be followed up to continue providing value to the membership;
- There was some general discussion about the key points of the survey and suggestions on how to make additional means of pushing out communications to the membership;
- The members expressed their thanks to Jan for conducting the survey;

7. Election of Officers for 2018

- The following members of the Executive Committee agreed to stand for re-election: Rob Wierdsma (Commodore), Anne Pugh (Past Commodore), Jan d'Ailly (Vice-Commodore), Scott Ramsay (Secretary), Mike Codd (Treasurer), Kit Wallace (Membership), Leo Van Kampen (Chief Measurer), Al Schonborn (Racing Secretary, Communications Officer, WIC Representative), Alan Asselstine (Cruising Secretary), Steph Romaniuk (Advertising Director), Sue Pilling (General Member), Alastair Ryder-Turner (General Member);
- There were no additional nominations:
- Analies Groen moved acceptance of the slate (seconded by John Cawthorne); carried

Meeting adjourned at 7:09 pm (moved by Jan d'Ailly, seconded by Analies Groen)